Monkey TV Guide - UK Free-to-air

In the early 1980s, the BBC showed Monkey every Friday at 6pm on BBC2. It hadn't been shown on free-to-air TV in the UK since... Until now...

Monkey returned to UK terrestrial TV in 2003, after an absence of over 17 years. Monkey was shown on Channel 4:
- Episodes 1 - 13: Thursday nights after midnight between 23 Jan - 24 Apr 2003
- Episodes 14 - 26: Friday nights after midnight between 8 Aug - 24 Oct 2003
- Episodes 27 - 39: Tuesday nights after midnight between 6 Jan - 30 Mar 2004

The newly-dubbed 13 unseen Monkey episodes were shown for the first time anywhere in the world (the world premiere!) on Channel 4:
- Tuesday nights after midnight between 7 Sep - 7 Dec 2004
(see the Monkey Dubbing page for more information about these newly-dubbed episodes)

The full screening schedule of all 52 episodes on UK terrestrial TV is included at the bottom of this page.

To be automatically notified with any further news / information about any Monkey rerun on UK terrestrial TV, and I've updated this page with the new information, please fill in the form below with your email address, and click OK.

Be notified of page updates
it's private
powered by
ChangeDetection


Here's an article that appeared in the 8-14 February 2003 issue of the UK's "TV & Satellite Week" TV listings magazine. Click on the image below to see a larger version of it.
Monkey article from 8-14 February 2003 issue of TV & Satellite Week magazine

Screening schedule
Episode 1 (Thursday 23 January 2003 night, after midnight): 12.35am - 1.35am [1/4 million viewers!]
Episode 2 (Thursday 30 January 2003 night, after midnight): 12.05am - 12.55am [1/2 million viewers!]
Episode 3 (Thursday 6 February 2003 night, after midnight): 12.45am - 01.35am [1/3 million viewers!]
Note: All episodes from episode 4 onwards have been averaging 200,000 viewers each week.
Episode 4 (Thursday 13 February 2003 night, after midnight): 12.45am - 01.40am
Episode 5 (Thursday 20 February 2003 night, after midnight): 12.45am - 01.35am
Episode 6 (Thursday 27 February 2003 night, after midnight): 12.45am - 01.40am
Episode 7 (Thursday 6 March 2003 night, after midnight): 12.45am - 01.30am
Episode 8 (Thursday 13 March 2003 night, after midnight): 01.25am - 02.15am
NOTE: No episode was shown on Thursday 20 March 2003, due to coverage of the war. Episode 9 was shown on Thursday 27 March 2003 instead. Episode 9 (Thursday 20 March 2003 night, after midnight): 00.45am - 01.35am
Episode 9 (Thursday 27 March 2003 night, after midnight): 01.05am - 01.55am
Episode 10 (Thursday 3 April 2003 night, after midnight): 00.55am - 01.50am
Episode 11 (Thursday 10 April 2003 night, after midnight)
Episode 12 (Thursday 17 April 2003 night, after midnight)
Episode 13 (Thursday 24 April 2003 night, after midnight)
Episode 14 (Friday 8 August 2003 night, after midnight): 01:40am - 02:30am [222,000 viewers!]
Episode 15 (Friday 15 August 2003 night, after midnight): 01:50am - 02:45am [166,000 viewers!]
Episode 16 (Friday 22 August 2003 night, after midnight): 02:05am - 03:00am [159,000 viewers!]
Episode 17 (Friday 29 August 2003 night, after midnight): 01:45am - 02:35am [138,000 viewers!]
Episode 18 (Friday 5 September 2003 night, after midnight): 01:15am - 02:10am [171,000 viewers!]
Episode 19 (Friday 12 September 2003 night, after midnight): 01:45am - 02:30am
Episode 20 (Friday 19 September 2003 night, after midnight): 01:10am - 02:00am
Episode 21 (Friday 26 September 2003 night, after midnight): 01:25am - 02:10am
Episode 22 (Friday 3 October 2003 night, after midnight): 01:35am - 02:20am
Episode 23 (Friday 10 October 2003 night, after midnight): 01:30am - 02:20am
Episode 24 (Friday 17 October 2003 night, after midnight): 01:10am - 02:10am
Episode 25 (Friday 24 October 2003 night, after midnight): 01:20am - 02:15am
Episode 26 (Friday 24 October 2003 night, after midnight): 02:15am - 03:05am
Episode 27 (Tuesday 6 January 2004 night, after midnight): 00:40am - 01:30am
Episode 28 (Tuesday 13 January 2004 night, after midnight): 00:50am - 01:40am
Episode 29 (Tuesday 20 January 2004 night, after midnight): 00:35am - 01:30am
Episode 30 (Tuesday 27 January 2004 night, after midnight): 00:40am - 01:30am
Episode 31 (Tuesday 3 February 2004 night, after midnight): 01:05am - 01:50am
Episode 32 (Tuesday 10 February 2004 night, after midnight): 01:10am - 01:55am
Episode 33 (Tuesday 17 February 2004 night, after midnight): 01:10am - 01:55am
Episode 34 (Tuesday 24 February 2004 night, after midnight): ?
Episode 35 (Tuesday 2 March 2004 night, after midnight): ?
Episode 36 (Tuesday 9 March 2004 night, after midnight): ?
Episode 37 (Tuesday 16 March 2004 night, after midnight): 01:10am - 01:55am
Episode 38 (Tuesday 23 March 2004 night, after midnight): 01:05am - 01:50am
Episode 39 (Tuesday 30 March 2004 night, after midnight): 01:05am - 01:50am
"Monkey Nuts: The Lost 13 Episodes" behind-the-scenes documentary (Tuesday 7 September 2004 night, after midnight): 01:15am - 01:45am
Unseen episode "The Tormented Emperor" (Tuesday 7 September 2004 night, after midnight): 01:45am - 02:35am
Unseen episode "Better The Demon You Know" (Tuesday 14 September 2004 night, after midnight): 01:15am - 02:05am
Unseen episode "The House Of The Evil Spirit" (Tuesday 21 September 2004 night, after midnight): 01:15am - 02:05am
Unseen episode "Stoned" (Tuesday 28 September 2004 night, after midnight): 01:50am - 02:40am
Unseen episode "Am I Dreaming?" (Tuesday 5 October 2004 night, after midnight): 02:05am - 03:00am
Unseen episode "You Win Some, You Lose Some" (Tuesday 12 October 2004 night, after midnight): 02:15am - 03:05am
Unseen episode "Pigsy Learns A Lesson" (Tuesday 19 October 2004 night, after midnight): 02:05am - 02:55am
Unseen episode "Hungry Like The Wolf" (Tuesday 26 October 2004 night, after midnight): 02:05am - 03:00am
Unseen episode "The Land With Two Suns" (Tuesday 2 November 2004 night, after midnight): 02:20am - 03:10am
Unseen episode "The Fake Pilgrims" (Tuesday 16 November 2004 night, after midnight): 03:10am - 04:00am
Unseen episode "Between Heaven And Hell" (Tuesday 23 November 2004 night, after midnight): 03:10am - 04:00am
Unseen episode "The Tenacious Tomboy" (Tuesday 30 November 2004 night, after midnight): 03:00am - 03:50am
Unseen episode "Monkey's Yearning" (Tuesday 7 December 2004 night, after midnight): 03:05am - 03:55am

Channel 4 have been very happy with the viewing figures, the first batch on Thursday nights picked up an average of 253,000 which was 10.2% of the market share and the second batch picked up an average of 160,000 which was 6.7%.

[To read more of the synopses that I wrote for the Monkey video / DVD release, please go to the Monkey Synopses page.]





Back to the Monkey TV Guide page